Archive for the ‘databases’ Category

Curation tools & the databases

Sunday, September 11th, 2011

I am getting ready to make two cases with my learners in the coming week.

One is my usual advice about carefully selecting sources and making use of the riches we provide in terms of our subscription databases.

The other will be the importance of new strategies for curation, both for school research and for those daily information… Read More

Free stuff from JSTOR

Thursday, September 8th, 2011

My kiddos are true JSTOR junkies.  They rely on the scholarly database for their research in many areas, but particularly in history and lit crit.

Alas, not every high school can squeeze this subscription into their budgets.  But cheer up, young historians and scholars . . .

Earlier this week, JSTOR announced that they are making their early journal content (stuff published prior to 1923… Read More

Web 3.0: We have so much stuff!

Saturday, September 3rd, 2011

I’ve been looking for a strategy to describe the value of curation strategies to other librarians, my own faculty, and to my students.

Last year we established that notebooks just weren’t working for us. This school year I want to be better able to address

  • How can we better manage our information lives and why should we?
  • Why are databases and search engines

ERIC gets social (5 new ways to do ed research)

Saturday, August 13th, 2011

While many of us weren’t watching, ERIC, the granddaddy of education research, has grown a lot more social.  As we prepare for a fall filled with professional development, it might be a good idea to share some of ERIC’s new coolness with the faculty.

In case you never had the pleasure . . .

Sponsored by… Read More

Mr. Database Man (a proof of concept)

Wednesday, July 6th, 2011

This spring, I asked a few of my always game filmmakers to create a series of proof-of-concept films to promote the use of databases across industry and brand.  Maya, who is looking forward to a marketing career, delivered one of their products just as the school year ended.  It stars Matt as Mr. Database Man.

We have a concept for a second film promoting database use among younger… Read More

Everyone is talking apps, but . .

Sunday, June 26th, 2011

At ISTE11 everyone is talking about powerful apps for learning.

Apps for creating art and music and for publishing.  Remarkable apps for special education.   And apps for research.

Educators here are discussing the powerful role mobile devices and apps can play in student research.  But no one is talking about library apps. No one is talking about apps for the databases school and public libraries subscribe to… Read More

AASL Launches Lesson Plan Database

Wednesday, April 20th, 2011

AASL just announced the launch of its Standards for the 21st-Century Learner Lesson Plan Database, designed to be:
a public, online database providing school librarians a fast and user-friendly way to create and share quality lesson plans with their peers.

Building on the template provided in Standards for the 21st-Century Learner In Action, the Lesson Plan

eCatalog central redux?

Monday, October 18th, 2010

Back in July 2009, I was fretting about volume of paper catalogs that arrived in our library, lamenting the waste and limited space issues, and brainstorming about a solution in a post-ALA post.  I was dreaming of an online resource, a catalog central, that would be there when I needed it, always up to date, always with a provocative reason to visit (coupons? contests? freebies? posters? bookmarks?)

Although… Read More

Thanks, Gale. And I want more of these.

Sunday, October 10th, 2010

Thanks to a Cathy Oxley’s post on our TL Diigo group, I just discovered Gale Cengage’s new YouTube video promoting AccessMyLibrary School Edition.

Here’s why this matters.

It matters because the market for this little video is not librarians.

The market is kids.  The story is why kids need reliable information and how easy it is to get it.

Load that… Read More

POWER Library: A shadow of its former self

Saturday, August 28th, 2010

The POWER Library is offered as a service of Pennsylvania’s public libraries, school libraries and the State Library.

The POWER library allows you to access thousands of full text periodical articles, newspapers, a major encyclopedia, plus photographs, pictures, charts, maps, reference materials for young people and more. You will find materials of interest in most subject areas for all age groups from